Department of Civil Engineering established cooperation  among 10 famous Universities (Andalas University, University of Indonesia, Bina Nusantara University, ITB, Parahyangan University, Gadjah Mada University, Diponegoro University, ITS, Merdeka Malang University, Hasanuddin University ) in Indonesia called  CKNet. In the same year, the department was honored as a secretariat of International Geosynthetics Society (IGS) Indonesian Chapter.